Skip to content

Living my dream is hard

by on July 16, 2012

Here’s what I’ve learned since our Transformation Leader seminar. Living my dream is hard. Lots of things get in the way and I just tend to give up. Maybe you are feeling the same way.

I published the first of what I thought would be a monthly magaine back in May and I immediately did not like the look and feel of the site and wasn’t sure what to do about it. I got good response, lots of page views. I was surprised actually that there were somewhere over 300 page views. This in itself is a minor miracle.

I should have been rejoicing. Instead I was trying to figure out how to fix the site and since I couldn’t get my brain around it, I just did nothing. Oh, I wrote down next step actions but then I’d get stuck on one of the steps. I tried to get help with the site but those willing to help had to have me tell them what I wanted which was really to learn how I could do it myself so I could see what I really wanted. But I didn’t know what I wanted. See the circular, endless pattern I was in?

Last Friday at the Freedom Night Out, Scott made a simple observatiion and asked a simple questions . He said, “So let me get this straight you were posting regularly on your old site last year and now you have your new site and you’ve stopped. What is it you really want to do and where are you stuck?” We didn’t talk long but it was long enough for me to realize that if I am a writer, I need to be writing and posting and sharing and working on my website instead of sitting and pondering and doing nothing.

That awful monster of resistance called perfection reared its ugly head and won for a few months. I took some peppermint essential oil for alertness and spent Saturday and a lot of Sunday tweaking my site, figuring out unfirgurable things and guess what? I posted again today.

I still have things I want to do. I want to make some of the longer articles into downloadable and printable pdfs. That will be coming soon. I have also decided to tell my own story in an ebook format. It will be the continuing saga of healthy living that I feel I have been on most of my life. It will include various stages of being stuck and getting unstuck. I might even share a few recipes, etc.

Anyway I’d love for you to go to my site and give me HONEST feedback. I value that from this group. Here’s the link.
http://realgodrealpeople.com/dreams-turn-nightmares;

Please leave a comment on the post on my site. It really helps the search engine rankings to have comments from others. Also, feel free to share the post. The Shareaholic buttons are at the end of the post. Just click on the facebook, twitter, pinterest, email or whatever you’d like and share away.

One last thing: I love this group. At times in the last few months I’ve felt I was going backwards and wondered if I should even think about dreaming new dreams at age 58. Dreaming is really easy. It’s living my dream that is hard. But if I don’t, there’s no reason to dream.

Love you guys. How are you living your dream?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

